Art of the Title Sequence

Great video that only brushes the surface of some of the best title designs and sequences in film history. The Art of the Title is a website devoted to such a craft, which over the last couple of decades has become a medium of artwork in itself.

Visit Art of the Title here.

34 responses to “Art of the Title Sequence

  1. Pingback: Art of the Title Sequence (via The Byczek Blog) | The Calculable

  2. There are so many unsung artists at work behind the scenes of every business, but how especially true of the film industry. Thanks for giving these folks their due. I didn’t realize the impact of title sequences till I watched the video and suddenly found myself reliving all those days sitting in the theatre with friends, glued to opening moments of what we were all certain would be a great afternoon. Totally made my day. I’m definitely calling a friend and going to the movies tonight!

  3. Nice clip. A lot of unforgettable movie title scene.
    It should also include “007”… the James Bond silhouette is such a classic.

  4. Very nice video, and congrats on the Freshly Pressed.

    My mind wandered to title sequences when I was re-watching Walter Hill’s ‘The Warriors’ for my piece on David Patrick Kelly. In my humble opinion, I think The Warriors’ title sequence is one of the very best; it’s iconic and truly sets the tone for the rest of the film: http://bit.ly/fQivvA

    Ash

  5. I really like the Zombieland sequence!

  6. Pingback: Art of the Title Sequence (via The Byczek Blog) | Top world news online

  7. I love movie and TV title scenes. They have so little time to catch attention and deliver the necessary information, and they must do it well. They’re truly an art form. Thank you for sharing. This may become a new favorite website for me.

  8. Pingback: Art of the Title Sequence | The Byczek Blog « Erotixx photoblog

  9. Excellent post, thank you. The creative heads behind movies and tv shows are often under appreciated, it’s great to see this tribute. One of my favourite title sequences is Love Actually but as your video showed, there are so many greats! Saturday Night Fever is also a goodie!

  10. Amazing video. Thanks for it. I have to say though, in all of the films that I have seen, Watchmen has the best opening. It’s amaaaaaaazing.

  11. amazing video, i like it the dawn of the dead!

  12. Wow – thanks for posting! Title sequences are definitely a much under appreciated art form. Most people when watching a film decide in the first few minutes their opinions on the narrative, so it’s a shame people don’t give proper credit to some of these sequences that just draw you in from the very opening frames. One that I didn’t see that I like a lot personally is the rotoscoped opening sequences of Guy Ritchie’s “Rock-n-Rolla”.

  13. Excellent video!

  14. Nice! I never thought about the titles being art in themselves until I saw this video. Title play has an important role in making the audience anticipate the film.

  15. Great post. Anatomy of a Murder still my reigning favorite.

  16. Pingback: To illustrate a point « nickysqueaks

  17. I was new in the world of bloggers so please guidance yes, And thank you for sharing these on your blog, And your blog is very useful to me.

  18. Love this! Its awesome.

  19. Amazing video. Thanks for it. I have to say though, in all of the films that I have seen, Watchmen has the best opening. It’s amaaaaaaazing.

  20. Amazing video. Thanks for it. I have to say though, in all of the films that I have seen, Watchmen has the best opening. It’s amaaaaaaazing.

  21. My mind wandered to title sequences when I was re-watching Walter Hill’s ‘The Warriors’ for my piece on David Patrick Kelly. In my humble opinion, I think The Warriors’ title sequence is one of the very best; it’s iconic and truly sets the tone for the rest of the film:

  22. ‘The Warriors’ for my piece on David Patrick Kelly. In my humble opinion, SEO

  23. รถโตโยต้า วีออส บอกเลยว่า ท่านใดกำลังมองหา รถรุ่นใหม่ ราคาถูก คุณภาพดีก็จัดมาเลย thankyou

  24. ส่งมอบ รถโตโยต้า วีโก้ VIGO ราคา 549,000 คุณชมรวันนี้ ขอบคุณคุณชมรที่ให้เอิทได้ดูแลมาออกรถถึงกทม เลยนะครับขอให้รถคันนี้นำเงินนำทองมาสู่ครอบครัวนะครับ ขอบคุณ ลูกค้าที่มาเป็น

Inspired?

