Carly Waito

I love these works by Carly Waito for several reasons. I love her ability to capture the luminous qualities in the rocks and gems. I love that the works are small (some around 5 or 6 inches tall). And most of all, I especially love that these are paintings. I tried to keep that part a surprise as long as I could. In seriousness though, Carly’s paintings are beautiful, and I love the little peeks into her process, like here on her blog. Smudges and dots of paint form together to create fantastic photorealistic geological wonders. Makes me wish I hadn’t slept through all my geology classes in college!

Visit Carly Waito’s portfolio here.

Inspired?

